MEET RUNAWAY MOMMA: KENNESHA

I met Kennesha a few years back through my sister-in-law. At the time, she had created these cute dresses, burp cloths and changing pads. She named her company PollyWog Togs. Aside from her creative gift, I discovered that she is such a warm and friendly person  that is so easy to talk to and be around. Three years ago, her husband got stationed on Oahu so the family moved from the rainy Washington skies to the tropical sunshine of Hawaii.  Recently, they moved back to Bellevue.  She is a mother of three, soon-to-be four and has quite the gift in working with her hands.  Be it creating children’s clothing to restoring furniture.  This lady is an amazing mom and friend.

MEET RUNAWAY MOMMA: KENNESHA

My name is Kennesha Buycks, momma to Caleb (7), Kendall (6), Logan (4) and Grayson. (2 weeks old)

I love, love, love being a mommy and wife and having the great opportunity and blessing to pour into my family each and every day. While being a mom is definitely a round -the-clock job that takes a ton of time, dedication and well, you moms get it…my life is also full of wonderful friendships and hobbies that enable me to express my” loves” and passions in life such as spending time with those whom God has placed in my life, decorating, crafting, furniture refinishing and writing. I am thankful for my life, family and friends. I attempt each day to make every moment and breath count!

What is your favorite part about being a mom?

Being a mom, is more than just raising children. It is about a Godly responsibility by effecting change in this world. I know if I do my part in mothering my four awesome children who in turn can make a difference around them. I truly see my children as a gift from God.

Knowing that I get to effect change in the world with God and the four awesome children that God has given us!

What is your favorite part of your typical day?

My favorite part of my day is snuggling up with my three year old, his favorite blanket and a few books in the morning after my older two have gone off to school. It’s really the only intimate and true one-on-one time we get throughout the day and it is very precious time.

What can you not go without in your everyday life?

Hmmmmm…I would say crafting. Since almost day one of my life, I have NEEDED to create with my hands. It’s kinda like a gift and a curse at the same time as my brain really never stops creating and thinking of ways to be creative!

What is one life lesson that you want to teach your sons and daughter?
First, I want to teach them to NEVER GIVE UP. No matter the challenge, obstacle or failure. Secondly, I want to teach them to always seek to serve others in life. Life is not all about living a self-serving existence and God will honor a giving heart. Thirdly, I want to teach them to keep a good attitude and to have a Godly perspective. The Bible is a reminder that His thoughts are always better than our own.

1. Never give up.
2. Seek to serve others in life. Always. God will honor a giving heart.
3. Keep a good attitude and a God perspective. His thoughts are always better than our own.

When you are having a tough day as a mom what helps you through it?

My very first thought is Jesus. My relationship with Him really helps me. Then my second thought is my husband. Both of them are my best friends and best friends help me get through those crazy days.

How did you make it work being a mom of three soon to be four and having a husband overseas on military leave?

It was absolutely amazing. At that time, we were in Hawaii and living thousands of miles from family. Honestly, we were blessed to have “adopted family” at our church who went above and beyond to make sure that the kids and I had everything we needed while Larry, my husband, was away in Kabul. From housekeeping to meals, they went above and beyond to ensure that the kids and I lacked nothing!

Not only did our family have everything that we PHYSICALLY needed to keep us going but, from a spiritual perspective, it was a time of growth and great maturity for me. While it was hard not having my helpmate with me for such a long time, God used that time to not strengthen my relationship with my husband (learning how to honor and value his place in our family and in my life) but it was also a great time of truly learning how deep God’s love is for me.

You have a creative passion for refurbishing antiques, how do you find time to do your hobby and be a momma?

Time is definitely a precious commodity for me right now as we prepare for the arrival of our fourth but because of my strong passion and desire for creating (it runs pretty deep), I make time for those things that are important to me and that allow me to express myself in ways that others do not.

Being a wife and mom will always be my first ministry and calling but in order to more effectively perform in that area of my life, I MUST create!

5 responses to “MEET RUNAWAY MOMMA: KENNESHA

  1. Love it… great perspective!

  2. Kennesha is an amazing person. My family was blessed to have her and her family come into our lives many years ago. Although we don’t talk much, I still consider her one of my dearest friends, and feel blessed to know her. She is a superwoman who deserves all of the happiness in the world.

  3. Kennesha is one of the best friends I’ve ever had. I was really blessed to live next door to her when Caleb was only 4 months old. Although much time has passed since I last saw her, I know we could pick up exactly where we left off. Another thing to note is that she has one of the biggest smiles and infectious laughs. Love and miss my dear friend!!!

  4. So proud of you! Miss your smiling face in Hawaii, but happy that things are going well for you and your growing and glowing family!

  5. WOW, I LOVE this Kennesha!! I hope all is well with your new family, Really miss seeing you at MOPS!! Love Ya!

Leave a Reply

