My 5th Year as a Mom! Thank you Isabella.

It is hard to believe that five years ago, I was in a hospital room awaiting the arrival of what I thought would be a brown-haired and brown-eyed girl. We had the name Isabella Eleanor ready to name our sweet one. Parker wanted to name her after strong women. Isabella which means God is my Oath after Queen Isabella of Spain who gave the green light to Columbus to discover America. Then her middle name Eleanor which means God is Light after Eleanor Roosevelt the first lady of the President of United States.

Much to our surprise, our daughter arrived with light blonde hair and blue eyes looking more like her grandmothers than her parents.

Lately, we have been having the best conversations.
Driving home from preschool, she says:

Mom, when I grow up I want to be a nurse because my friend Allie wants to be a doctor. What did you want to be when you grew up?

I answer:
At your age, I probably wanted to be an actress or a dancer.
She responds matter-of-factly:
Well, that didn’t work out for you. You are a MOM!

We were eating together the other day and I look over at her and she was smiling.

I ask:
What are you smiling about?

She says:
Because I love you.
Thanks for taking me to lunch, mom.
This is the best day of my life.

Yep, I am smitten. I love being a mom to this lovely, little lady!

2 responses to “My 5th Year as a Mom! Thank you Isabella.

  1. Very nice pictures! Happy Birthday!

  2. So sweet, Jen! What a lovely little 5 year old!

Leave a Reply

