Run 13 miles? Yeah, right!

On January 20th, 2010, I made an outlandish decision.  I decided to run 13.2 miles in the Seattle Rock -n- Roll  half marathon on Saturday, June 26th.  http://seattle.competitor.com/.  This strikingly out of the ordinary decision came from a moment where I watched one of my friends cross the finish line last year.

In my entire life, I  have never had the term athlete attached to any part of my persona.  However, after my daughter was born in 2006, I was motivated to get rid of the baby weight so I joined Stroller Strides.  I http://classes.strollerstrides.net/issaquahsnoqualmie/location/index.aspx.  I discovered something about myself.  I DO NOT LIKE TO WORKOUT ALONE.  I love to talk my way through my workout.  So, seventy-two pounds lighter and with a grip of great girlfriends. We are about to embark on our greatest challenge yet.  Thirteen point two miles of rock and roll fun.

One response to “Run 13 miles? Yeah, right!

  1. First and foremost I am in total awe of the ladies running this 1/2 marathon! I am not a runner by nature, however, this group has inspired me beyond belief to not only run, but to enjoy it AND be competitive with it. I am not a competitive person by nature, but when it comes to running, I seem to have a little bug in me that makes me want to, need to, have to go faster. I think that is probably the “layman’s” definition of competitive nature.

    I believe my husband respects me more knowing I can beat him in a run, short distance anyway, and I think he likes to see the part of me that actually wants to compete and PUSH myself beyond what I thought I could do. I know I would not be where I am at without Stroller Strides, and this group who has encouraged, pushed, inspired me to be a good runner. I can say that….I can, I am a good runner, it feels good and I think everyone on here should share something positive that they respect about themselves for taking on a challenge like RUNNING! It is hard on your body, mind and spirit, and yet is so awesome and theraputic when doing it with friends.

Leave a Reply

